Toggle navigation

SNEAK PEEK: THE KING’S MERCY by Lori Benton

Read the first two chapters of The King’s Mercy.

For readers of Sara Donati and Diana Gabaldon, this epic historical romance tells of fateful love between an indentured Scotsman and a daughter of the 18th century colonial south.

When captured rebel Scotsman Alex MacKinnon is granted the king’s mercy—exile to the Colony of North Carolina—he’s indentured to Englishman Edmund Carey as a blacksmith. Against his will Alex is drawn into the struggles of Carey’s slaves—and those of his stepdaughter, Joanna Carey. A mistress with a servant’s heart, Joanna is expected to wed her father’s overseer, Phineas Reeves, but finds herself drawn instead to the new blacksmith. As their unlikely relationship deepens, successive tragedies strike the Careys. When blame falls unfairly upon Alex he flees to the distant mountains where he encounters Reverend Pauling, itinerate preacher and friend of the [ … ]

SNEAK PEEK: A SILKEN THREAD by Kim Vogel Sawyer

Read the first two chapters of A Silken Thread.

For readers who love a heartwarming romance and a rich historical setting comes a tale of a young woman with a heavy burden, the International Cotton Exposition, and the pursuit of true love.

Eighteen-year-old Laurel Millard, youngest of seven children, is expected to stay home and “take care of Mama” by her older siblings, but Laurel has dreams of starting her own family. Operating a silk loom at the Atlanta Exposition will give her the chance to capture the heart of a man wealthy enough to take care of Laurel and any children she might bear, as well as her mother.

Brendan Rochester’s parents have given him an ultimatum: settle down with a wife or lose his family inheritance. At the Exposition, Brendan meets Laurel. Marrying her would satisfy his [ … ]

Coming Soon: BENEATH A PRAIRIE MOON!

Pre-order your copy of Beneath a Prairie Moon today!
Purchase a copy from your favorite retailer here.

Enter to win here!

About Beneath a Prairie Moon

Readers rabid for the sweet historical romances of Tracie Peterson and Tamara Alexander will flock to best-selling author Kim Vogel Sawyer’s prairie-set heartwarmer of high society cast-off and the western town that welcomes her.

Abigail Brantley grew up in affluence and knows exactly how to behave in high society. But when she is cast from the social registers due to her father’s illegal dealings, she finds herself forced into a role she never imagined: tutoring rough Kansas ranchers in the subjects of manners and morals so [ … ]

Luther and Katharina Wins 2016 ECPA Book Award

Colorado Springs, Colo. (May 6, 2016) – WaterBrook is proud to announce that Luther and Katharina: A Novel of Love and Rebellion (WaterBrook, October 6, 2015) by Jody Hedlund has won the Evangelical Christian Publisher’s Association (ECPA) 2016 Christian Book Award in the “Fiction” category. The 2016 Christian Book Award winners were named at the ECPA’s 2016 Awards Celebration on May 3rd during the ECPA Leadership Summit hosted in Nashville, Tenn.

In Luther and Katharina, bestselling author Hedlund, chronicles the true love story between former nun, Katharina von Bora and the great reformer of the faith, Martin Luther. As an expert in the historical fiction genre, her work shines a light on female figures that have, for far too long, remained unknown and hidden in the annals of history.

Luther and Katharina also honors the upcoming 500th anniversary of the [ … ]

News: Where Treetops Glisten Featured on Veterans Day Lifeway Blog

Tricia Goyer, Sarah Sundin and Cara Putman, authors of Where Treetops Glisten, are in a special Veterans Day post on Lifeway’s “Shelf Life” blog. Each author shares a personal story about the inspiration behind Where Treetops Glisten, a collection of three stories of Christmas romance during World War II. Go here to read how veterans influenced their writing and more.

SNEAK PEEK: Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky

What if the title, the estate, the life of security and splendor… what if it isn’t enough? 

Click here to download chapter one of Daughter of Highland Hall.

Strong-willed and beautiful, debutante Katherine Ramsey feels ready to take the London social season by storm, and she must. Her family estate, Highland Hall, has been passed to older male cousin Sir William Ramsey, and her only means of securing her future is to make a strong debut and find a proper husband. With her all-knowing and meddling aunt as a guide, Katherine is certain to attract suitors at the lavish gatherings, sparkling with Great Britain’s elite.

Click here to download chapter one of Daughter of Highland Hall

 
 

SNEAK PEEK: Thief of Glory by Sigmund Brouwer

A boy coming of age in a time of war…
the love that inspires him to survive.

Click here to download chapter one of Thief of Glory.

For ten year-old Jeremiah Prins, the life of privilege as the son of a school headmaster in the Dutch East Indies comes crashing to a halt in 1942 after the Japanese Imperialist invasion of the Southeast Pacific. Jeremiah takes on the responsibility of caring for his younger siblings when his father and older stepbrothers are separated from the rest of the family, and he is surprised by what life in the camp reveals about a woman he barely knows—his frail, troubled mother.

Click here to download chapter one of Thief of Glory.

 
 
 

Sneak Peek: The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton


Frontier dangers cannot hold a candle to the risks one woman takes by falling in love

Click here to download chapter one of The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn.

In an act of brave defiance, Tamsen Littlejohn escapes the life her harsh stepfather has forced upon her. Forsaking security and an arranged marriage, she enlists frontiersman Jesse Bird to guide her to the Watauga settlement in western North Carolina. But shedding her old life doesn’t come without cost. As the two cross a vast mountain wilderness, Tamsen faces hardships that test the limits of her faith and endurance.

Click here to download chapter one of The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn.

 

 

SNEAK PEEK: The Quilted Heart Omnibus by Mona Hodgson

This Christmas, experience learning to trust alongside the Plain folk of Apple Ridge, Pennsylvania in this heart-warming tale of second chances. – See more at: https://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?work=226490#sthash.t1pXmENy.dpuf
Gideon O’Riley has been given another chance at a life with Lonnie. But will the fight for her heart risk it all over again? – See more at: https://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?work=219085#sthash.2GHMxE02.dpuf
Turn your fleeting minutes into defining moments.
They were two of Jesus’s closest friends. Each had something to offer Him. But one offered “the better part.” – See more at: https://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?work=223010#sthash.s6voIUKK.dpuf

Like a beautiful patchwork quilt, the three novellas in The Quilted Heart tell stories of lives stitched together with love and God’s unending grace.

Click here to download chapter one of The Quilted Heart.

[ … ]