Toggle navigation

Stand-Up Comedian John Crist Publishing First Book in Spring 2020

WaterBrook, an imprint of Random House, has acquired the first book from stand-up comedian John Crist, known for his humor relating to the nuances and quirks of the church. Tina Constable, WaterBrook Executive Vice President and Publisher, and Lead Acquisition Editor Andrew Stoddard acquired world publishing rights from United Talent Agency. Stoddard will also serve as the editor. The book, which will offer a delightful dose of Crist’s signature wit as he explores themes from his upbringing, millennial foibles, and the bothersome trappings of modern life, is scheduled to be published in Spring 2020.

“John Crist brings something fresh to comedy with a hilarious perspective appealing to both Christian and mainstream audiences,” says Constable. “We couldn’t be happier to be publishing his first book. John’s humor helps us laugh at ourselves, [ … ]

NO ONE EVER ASKED Listed Among Christianity Today’s 2019 Book Awards

We are pleased to announced that Katie Ganshert’s novel, NO ONE EVER ASKED, has received Christianity Today’s 2019 Book Award of Merit in the fiction category. Christianity Today announced the awards Dec. 11, 2018, describing them as their “picks for the books most likely to shape evangelical life, thought, and culture.” Accompanying the award on the CT website is author Lynn Austin’s review of the book, calling it “challenging and thought-provoking.” See the whole review below.

Congratulations to Katie Ganshert!

About NO ONE EVER ASKED:

Challenging perceptions of discrimination and prejudice, this emotionally resonant drama for readers of Lisa Wingate and Jodi Picoult explores three different women navigating challenges in a changing school district–and in their lives.

[ … ]

Book Trailer: HOW TO BE A PERFECT CHRISTIAN by The Babylon Bee

About How to Be a Perfect Christian

With a biting, satirical style reminiscent of The OnionHow to Be a Perfect Christian takes a humorous look at the quirks of cultural Christianity while subtly challenging the reader to search for more than a cultural faith.

Written in the trademark style of The Babylon Bee, this book humorously satirizes cultural Christianity while peppering in subtle challenges to the reader. Through humor and sarcasm (and a handy meter to rank your “holiness” as you progress through the book), readers will be called to find a more biblical understanding of the Christian faith, all while poking fun at the quirks of the modern, American Christian community.

Authors of CONVICTED on New “Huckabee” Show

Jameel McGee and Andrew Collins, authors of Convicted: A Crooked Cop, an Innocent Man, and an Unlikely Journey of Forgiveness and Friendship, were guests on Governor Mike Huckabee’s new program “Huckabee” on TBN on Dec. 16.  Governor Huckabee  asked McGee and Collins to please keep telling their story. “I don’t know of anything more powerful to help us through forgiveness and grace, but also racial reconcilation, than the story that is represented by you two men.”  Watch the full interview here. 

 

 

Fox News Highlights Paul Teutul Jr, author of THE BUILD

Paul Teutul Jr, author of THE BUILD, shares his experience of being fired by his father in 2008 from Orange County Chopper in a recent Fox News opinion piece. “I entered into one of the most uncertain times in my life,” he says. With time and perspective, Teutul now says it “turned out to be one of the best things that could have happened to me.”

Find out why in the full article: http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2017/11/18/paul-teutul-my-american-chopper-firing-was-one-best-things-that-happened-to-me.html

Click Here to see the first pages of The Build

SNEAK PEEK: ISAIAH’S DAUGHTER by Mesu Andrews

Read the first chapter of Isaiah’s Daughter.

In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah’s household rises to capture the heart of the future king.

Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name–Zibah, delight of the Lord–thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet’s home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah’s lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah’s favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.

SNEAK PEEK: THE DREAM OF YOU by Jo Saxton

Read the first chapter of The Dream of You.

Let’s be honest, the life you lead isn’t what you’ve always dreamt. And maybe the person you’ve become isn’t who you’ve always imagined. Sure, you can clean it up. You can work longer, love harder, and eat better. You can scrub the surface of your life until it gleams and still never address the fact that somehow you lost sight of who you really are and what you’re living for.

Is this the life you were meant to live?

As the child of Nigerian immigrants in the UK, author and speaker Jo Saxton knows firsthand how quickly the world can cause us to doubt our dreams and question who we are. She understands how easily we can exchange our true child-of-God selves for an identity built on lies, guilt, and [ … ]

Isaiah’s Daughter Receives PW Starred Review

Mesu Andrews has received a starred review from Publishers Weekly for her upcoming biblical fiction novel, Isaiah’s Daughter: A Novel of Prophets and Kings, releasing Jan. 16, 2018.

Publishers Weekly (10/30/2017): Andrews (Miriam) continues her mission to explore the lives of lesser-known women of the Bible in this thrilling account of Hephzibah, the wife of King Hezekiah of Judah. She begins her life as Ishma and is orphaned as a girl when her family is killed by Israelite soldiers. After a treacherous flight, she is welcomed into the prophet Isaiah’s home. There she meets the young prince Hezekiah, who has also suffered: he watched his brother be sacrificed to a pagan god. The two children form a friendship rooted in their shared pain that develops over the years into a lasting love. Isaiah adopts Ishma and bestows on her a new [ … ]

Hillsong Founder Brian Houston Releases New Book March 2018

Brian Houston, Global Senior Pastor of the worldwide Hillsong Church and President and Executive Producer of the popular Hillsong Music, with songs sung by more than 50 million people each Sunday, is set to author a new book with WaterBrook, an imprint of the Crown Publishing Group, a division of Penguin Random House. There is More: When the World Says You Can’t – God Says You Can is scheduled to publish in the United States on March 20, 2018, and on March 19, 2018, from Ebury at Penguin Random House Australia.

Houston’s book comes as his international network of churches has experienced exponential growth, now in 20 countries across six continents. Hillsong’s U.S. congregations have approximately 20,000 in attendance per weekend.

Tina Constable, Senior Vice President and Publisher for Currency, Forum, and Christian Publishing, announced that world rights to the [ … ]