Toggle navigation

About Isaiah's Daughter

In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah's household rises to capture the heart of the future king.
 
Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name--Zibah, delight of the Lord--thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet's home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah's lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah's favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.
 
"Andrews (The Pharaoh’s Daughter) offers her unique brand of in-depth Bible knowledge and storytelling flair ... [she] is gifted at bringing the past to life..." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise

“Danger, dark schemes, and political intrigue wrestle against truth, valor, and determined obedience to Yahweh in this compelling tale of Hezekiah—the boy who would be king—and a beautiful but broken orphan girl taken in by Isaiah, the Lord’s prophet. While alternately angered and devastated by the faithlessness of Yahweh’s people in one chapter, in the next I was revitalized and filled with hope in the unfolding prophecies and mercy of our Sovereign God. Andrews has woven a love story, a beautifully written novel to savor, and a reminder that despite our fallen humanity, God’s best is yet to come.”
Cathy Gohlke, Christy Award–winning author of Until We Find Home

“Mesu Andrews brings the prophet Isaiah to life with her usual brilliance at weaving deep historical threads together with the story of a little-known woman of the Bible. Isaiah’s Daughter is an excellent reminder that the truth of God’s words will be proven, even when His people cannot see through the veil of suffering to the ultimate victory.”
Connilyn Cossette, CBA best-selling author of the Out from Egypt series

“Epic drama, adventure, love, treachery—Isaiah’s Daughter is all of that and more in this latest stellar novel by Mesu Andrews. The author brings to life Judah’s queen, the lovely Hephzibah, infusing each page with heart-stopping emotion and a pure romantic love for her friend and king, Hezekiah, that touched my soul. When I finished reading, I could only marvel at the novel’s depth and breadth and how Andrews portrayed this daughter of a prophet rising to the greatness of God’s promise, resilient in a time of disobedience. Keeping faith with Yahweh amid war and death and pestilence might be the only means to survive. A thoroughly catch-your-breath kind of experience in an impressive body of work, Isaiah’s Daughter is a story fans of biblical fiction will love!”
Kate Breslin, award-winning author of For Such a Time

About Mesu Andrews

Mesu Andrews is the award-winning author of Love Amid the Ashes and numerous other novels including The Pharaoh’s Daughter and Miriam. Her deep understanding of–and love for– God’s Word brings the biblical world alive for readers. Mesu lives in North Carolina with her husband Roy and enjoys spending time with her growing tribe of grandchildren.

Product Details

400 pages | Published by WaterBrook

On Sale Date: Jan 16, 2018

Trim Size: 5-1/2 x 8-1/4

Carton Quantity: 24

Sneak Peek

Click Here to download the first pages of Isaiah's Daughter. In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah's household rises to capture the heart of the future king. Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name--Zibah, delight of the Lord--thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet's home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah's lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah's favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.

Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Contact: Chelsea Woodward
Associate Publicist
cwoodward@penguinrandomhouse.com
(719) 268-1915
 
Hope Springs from Despair in Beautiful Tale Inspired by Biblical Prophecy and Hebrew Tradition
 
Andrews (Miriam) continues her mission to explore the lives of lesser-known women of the Bible in this thrilling account of Hephzibah, the wife of King Hezekiah of Judah. Andrews’s excellent tale invites readers to have a new appreciation for the time of the prophets and to reconsider what trust in God truly means.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
 
Gifted Bible teacher and award-winning author Mesu Andrews reaches into the pages of Biblical prophecy and Hebrew tradition to unearth a rags-to-royalty story of the devastated orphan, Ishma—meaning “desolation”—in Isaiah’s Daughter: A Novel of Prophets and Kings (Jan. 16, 2018, WaterBrook).
 
At just 5 years old, Ishma’s life crumbles around her when Israelite soldiers violently kill her family and take her into captivity. Upon her release, the royal prophet Isaiah welcomes her into his home where she meets Prince Hezekiah (Hezi)—a boy who has also experienced great tragedy. Ishma and Hezi bond in their suffering, and as they grow in age, so does their love for each other.
 
Aware of their developing relationship, Isaiah adopts Ishma as his daughter and presents her with a new name that will qualify her to marry royalty—Hephzibah (Zibah), meaning “delight of the Lord.”
 
Hezi and Zibah marry, but after difficult times of barrenness, Assyrian aggression, disease and challenging prophecies from Isaiah, Zibah learns that loving her husband will require more of her than she ever imagined.
 
Isaiah’s Daughter brings the story of Hephzibah to life and shines a new light on the Old Testament and life of the prophet Isaiah. Readers will find that this beautiful tale inspires them to place their trust in the Lord, no matter how bleak their circumstances, knowing that even the most desolate can be transformed into His delight.

Contact Publicist

Chelsea Woodward

By Martha Artyomenko

I have always come to expect Mesu Andrews to challenge me when I read her books. I will not have to search for the biblical story, but I will instead sometimes find myself wondering how someone can take a biblical story and make it so real and alive. In this story, you will get to know some of the lesser known biblical characters, but will want to open your bible when you are done. If there is nothing else I have learned when reading this...

Read the Full Review

By Janet Davis

Biblical fiction can go one of only two ways, it can be done extremely well or it can do a complete 180 from that and be done completely so far from well that it's well you know what 180 means. Even established amazing Biblical fiction authors can have those 180 books. Every time I pick one up I know the risks. Heck, I embrace the risks. It's a genre I love and Mesu Andrews hit it out of the park with 'Isaiah's Daughter'. There...

Read the Full Review

By Sylvia Villalpando

Songs are written of sons, but daughters are left to whispers. So gather near, friend, to hear of a daughter beyond imagining. She had the heart of a lion. Braver than a soldier. Wiser than a king. She was queen in Judah long after King David's bones had turned to dust. Long after the arrogance of Solomon's son split Israel into two nations.   In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman...

Read the Full Review

By Michelle Morgan

I love historical fiction and his book really intrigued me. The theme of this book is determining God's calling in your life,very relevant for me. I enjoyed reading this book. I look forward to reading more of Mesu Andrew's books.

Read the Full Review

By Stacey Brown

Author Mesu Andrews has written another well-researched historical fiction story in her series A Novel of Prophets and Kings.  She tells the story through the eyes of Hephzibah, the wife of King Hezekiah, based on scriptures from 2 Kings and the book of Isaiah. In this fictional story she is the adopted daughter of the Biblical prophet Isaiah, hence the title Isaiah's Daughter.  I was drawn into the story as it begins from a child's...

Read the Full Review