Toggle navigation

Amish Fiction


We’re so glad you’ve stopped by! Explore around the different videos, recipes, and chapter book samples —all from New York Times best-selling Amish fiction author, Cindy Woodsmall. 

The Latest Series: Amish of Summer Grove

Season for tendingSee what Cindy has to say about the series and A Season for Tending.

“I loved writing A Season for Tending. Just a few things I can’t wait to share with you about my newest series: a new homegrown business (herbs, fruits, and canning Amish-style!), new characters (you’ll love them!), and a peek into how the recession has impacted Amish families.

You can sign up for my newsletter at to get updates and information about this exciting books…and the books to follow in the Amish Vines and Orchards series!” – Cindy Woodsmall

The Scent of Cherry Blossoms

The Scent of Cherry BlossomsAs spring moves into Pennsylvania and Annie spends time amongst the cherry trees with the handsome Aden Zook, she wishes she could forget how deeply the lines between the Old Order Amish and Old Order Mennonite are drawn.

Can Annie and Aden find a place for their love to bloom in the midst of the brewing storm?

Praise for The Scent of Cherry Blossoms

“This bittersweet and heartwarming story by the popular author of the ‘Ada’s House’ and ‘Sisters of the Quilt’ Amish series is sure to appeal to fans of Wanda E. Brunstetter and Richard Paul Evans.” – Library Journal


Watch the Behind-the-Scenes Videos!

Thoughts on The Scent of Cherry Blossoms

Differences Between Old Order Amish and Old Order Mennonite

Plain Wisdom

87913372Cindy’s first non-fiction book, Plain Wisdom, is now available!  New York Times best-selling author Karen Kingsbury says of this book: “A treasure chest, for sure…The wisdom in these stories is time-tested and true–plain and simple.”

In Plain Wisdom, Cindy’s co-author and Old Order Amish friend, Miriam Flaud shares some special recipes from her Amish community. Here is one recipe that is always made for the post-church meal.


Peanut Butter Spread

Cream together:

1 1/2 cups creamy peanut butter

1 stick butter, softened

Add and continue to cream well:

3/4 cup marshmallow cream


3/4 cup pancake syrup

Whip ingredients together, and enjoy on a slice of homemade bread, a bagel, or toast.


Connect with Cindy

FInd Cindy Woodsmall on Facebook

The Bookshelf

Cindy’s books include several novels, two Christmas novellas, and a spring-time novella. She has also written one non-fiction book which was co-written with her Old Order Amish friend, Miriam Flaud.


Sisters of the Quilt series: When the Heart Cries (Book 1), When the Morning Comes (Book 2), and When the Soul Mends (Book 3).

Ada’s House series: The Hope of Refuge (Book 1), The Bridge of Peace (Book 2), and The Harvest of Grace (Book 3).

The Sound of Sleigh Bells and The Christmas Singing are Cindy’s Christmas novellas. You can watch the video trailer for The Christmas Singing here.

The Scent of Cherry Blossoms is Cindy’s first spring-time novella.

Plain Wisdom is Cindy’s only non-fiction book and was co-written with her dear friend, Miriam Flaud. It is a collection of poignant recollections, unexpected insights, and humorous tales every woman — whether modern or Old Order Amish — can relate to.

To read select excerpts books, see below or visit our website.

Chapter Excerpts

When the Heart Cries by Cindy Woodsmall (Chapter 1)

The Sound of Sleigh Bells by Cindy Woodsmall (Chapter 1)

The Hope of Refuge by Cindy Woodsmall (Chapter 1)

The Bridge of Peace by Cindy Woodsmall (Chapter 1)

The Harvest of Grace by Cindy Woodsmall (ch. 1 excerpt)

Plain Wisdom by Cindy Woodsmall (Chapter 1)

Don’t miss any fiction news! Be sure to sign-up today by clicking here or the image below!

Visit to learn more about all of our fiction, non-fiction, and children’s books.

You can also keep up with the latest news on our Fiction Facebook Page or by following us on Twitter!

Love Book Clubs? Join ours today by clicking here or the image below!