Toggle navigation

About The Librarian of Boone's Hollow

A traveling librarian ventures into the mining towns of Kentucky on horseback—and learns to trust the One who truly pens her story—in this powerful novel from the best-selling author of A Silken Thread.
 
During the Great Depression, city-dweller Addie Cowherd dreams of becoming a novelist and offering readers the escape that books had given her during her tragic childhood. When her father loses his job, she is forced to take the only employment she can find—delivering books on horseback to poor coal-mining families in the hills of Kentucky.
 
But turning a new page will be nearly impossible in Boone's Hollow, where residents are steeped in superstitions and deeply suspicious of outsiders. Even local Emmett Tharp feels the sting of rejection after returning to the tiny mountain hamlet as the first in his family to graduate college. And as the crippled economy leaves many men jobless, he fears his degree won’t be worth much in a place where most men either work the coal mine or run moonshine.
 
As Addie also struggles to find her place, she’ll unearth the truth about a decades-old rivalry. But when someone sets out to sabotage the town’s library program, will the culprit chase Addie away or straight into the arms of the only person who can help her put a broken community back together?

About Kim Vogel Sawyer

Kim Vogel Sawyer is a highly acclaimed bestselling author with more than one million books in print in seven different languages. Her titles have earned numerous accolades including the ACFW Carol Award, the Inspirational Readers' Choice Award, and the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence. Kim lives in central Kansas with her retired military husband, Don, where she continues to write gentle stories of hope. She enjoys spending time with her three daughters and her grandchildren.

Product Details

368 pages | Published by WaterBrook

On Sale Date: Sep 15, 2020

Trim Size: 5-1/2 x 8-1/4

Carton Quantity: 24

Sneak Peek

Start reading The Librarian of Boone's Hollow A traveling librarian ventures into the mining towns of Kentucky on horseback—and learns to trust the One who truly pens her story—in this powerful novel from the best-selling author of A Silken Thread. During the Great Depression, city-dweller Addie Cowherd dreams of becoming a novelist and offering readers the escape that books had given her during her tragic childhood. When her father loses his job, she is forced to take the only employment she can find—delivering books on horseback to poor coal-mining families in the hills of Kentucky. But turning a new page will be nearly impossible in Boone's Hollow, where residents are steeped in superstitions and deeply suspicious of outsiders. Even local Emmett Tharp feels the sting of rejection after returning to the tiny mountain hamlet as the first in his family to graduate college. And as the crippled economy leaves many men jobless, he fears his degree won’t be worth much in a place where most men either work the coal mine or run moonshine. As Addie also struggles to find her place, she’ll unearth the truth about a decades-old rivalry. But when someone sets out to sabotage the town’s library program, will the culprit chase Addie away or straight into the arms of the only person who can help her put a broken community back together?

Press Release

 
 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Contact: Leslie Calhoun, Publicity Assistant
lcalhoun@penguinrandomhouse.com
(719) 268-1932
 
For Fans of The Giver of Stars, Kim Vogel Sawyer’s Newest Historical Fiction Novel Offers a Captivating Account of the Depression-Era Packhorse Librarians of Kentucky
 
“Kim Vogel Sawyer is an amazing storyteller who crafts each of her stories with page-turning excitement and rich character development. I’ve known Kim for many years and can honestly say that her books are some of the most satisfying and delightful I’ve read. I feel confident my readers will enjoy her novels immensely.”
Tracie Peterson, best-selling author of more than one hundred fiction titles, including the Golden Gate Secrets series
 
Set in the midst of the Great Depression, The Librarian of Boone’s Hollow (WaterBrook, 9/15/20) highlights the unique challenges faced by young women who became packhorse librarians in the rural mountain communities of Kentucky under the direction of President Roosevelt’s Works Progress Administration. In the same vein as The Giver of Stars and The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek, this newest historical fiction novel by bestselling and highly-acclaimed author Kim Vogel Sawyer emphasizes the importance of literacy, the healing power of storytelling, and the ultimate redemption found in overcoming systemic closed-mindedness and prejudice.
 
Addie Cowherd is a year away from completing her teaching degree at the University of Kentucky in Lexington when she receives word that her adoptive father has lost his position at the Georgetown Citizens Bank. Already behind on tuition payments and desperate to help provide for her parents, Addie accepts the only employment she can find—delivering books on horseback to poor coal-mining families in the hills of Kentucky.
 
But turning a new page will be nearly impossible in Boone’s Hollow, where residents are steeped in superstitions and deeply suspicious of outsiders. Even local Emmett Tharp feels the sting of rejection after returning to the tiny mountain hamlet as the first in his family to graduate college.

As Emmett struggles to find his place and Addie fights to be accepted, the two of them become caught up in a decades-old rivalry that threatens to destroy the fledgling library program and any hope the Boone’s Hollow folk have of restoring the fractured relationships in their community.
 
Fans of historical fiction and readers of Jojo Moyes and Kim Michele Richardson will find themselves transported back in time to 1936 Kentucky when electricity was scarce and most men either worked the coal mine or ran moonshine. Additional historical details shed light on the harsh working conditions of coal miners, the trend of salvaging book and magazine pages by creating themed scrapbooks, and the unique history of Cherokee influence in the Kentucky hill regions. In weaving together these fascinating strands of history, Sawyer pens a captivating story that instills the importance of education and the biblical lessons of loving and forgiving one’s neighbors.
 
For more information, visit www.waterbrookmultnomah.com.
 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: KIM VOGEL SAWYER is an award-winning, bestselling author with more than 1.5 million books in print in seven different languages. Her titles have earned numerous accolades, including the ACFW Carol Award, the Inspirational Readers Choice Award, and the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence. Kim and her retired military husband, Don, live in in central Kansas, where she continues to write gentle stories of hope. When she isn’t writing, Sawyer stays active serving in her church, traveling, and spoiling her grandchildren. For more information, visit www.kimvogelsawyer.com.  
 
Facebook: www.facebook.com/KimVogelSawyer.Author.Speaker/
Twitter: @kimvogelsawyer
 
 


 
Suggested Questions
The Librarian of Boone’s Hollow
by Kim Vogel Sawyer
 
 
1.     What was your inspiration for this story and how did you research the topic further?
2.     What fascinates you the most about this time in America’s history?
3.     Why do you think it’s important for younger readers to learn more about life during the Great Depression?
4.     Superstition, prejudice, and communal rivalry are major themes in this novel. Why do you think these are important topics to address, especially in light of current news headlines?
5.     Describe the significance of Nanny Fay’s history.
6.     Who was your favorite character to write? Which character did you resonate with the most?
7.     One of the most powerful moments in the novel revolves around a character’s realization of what real love looks like. Without giving away any spoilers, why do you think this is such a necessary message to impart to readers?
8.     How have libraries—both public or personal—affected your own journey as an author?
9.     What do you hope readers will take away from this book?
 
 

Contact Publicist

lcalhoun@penguinrandomhouse.com