Toggle navigation

About No Ocean Too Wide

Between the years of 1869 to 1939 more than 100,000 poor British children were sent across the ocean to Canada with the promise of a better life. Those who took them in to work as farm laborers or household servants were told they were orphans--but was that the truth?

After the tragic loss of their father, the McAlister family is living at the edge of the poorhouse in London in 1908, leaving their mother to scrape by for her three younger children, while oldest daughter, Laura, works on a large estate more than an hour away. When Edna McAlister falls gravely ill and is hospitalized, twins Katie and Garth and eight-year-old Grace are forced into an orphans' home before Laura is notified about her family's unfortunate turn of events in London. With hundreds of British children sent on ships to Canada, whether truly orphans or not, Laura knows she must act quickly. But finding her siblings and taking care of her family may cost her everything.

Andrew Fraser, a wealthy young British lawyer and heir to the estate where Laura is in service, discovers that this common practice of finding new homes for penniless children might not be all that it seems. Together Laura and Andrew form an unlikely partnership. Will they arrive in time? Will their friendship blossom into something more?

Inspired by true events, this moving novel follows Laura as she seeks to reunite her family and her siblings who, in their darkest hours, must cling to the words from Isaiah: "Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God".

Praise

No Ocean Too Wide is a fine example of a historical novel performing one of its most important functions: bringing to life, honoring, and preserving a piece of history that might otherwise go forgotten. Turansky’s novel is sure to capture readers with the heartache and hope entwining the McAlister family’s story. Those interested in America’s orphan trains will not want to miss this fresh new tale about the British Home Children.”
—Jocelyn Green, award-winning author of Between Two Shores

No Ocean Too Wide is a classic story of hope and perseverance for readers of Lisa Wingate, Cathy Gohlke, and Susan Anne Mason. Turansky excavates a little-known history to sew a tender narrative about the inherent desire for place and belonging. Beyond the well-drawn journey and the romantic connection slowly unfurling into deepest love, Turansky encourages the reader to seek the power of God’s forgiveness in the hardest to reach places.”
—Rachel McMillan, author of Murder in the City of Liberty

No Ocean Too Wide is a compelling story of the McAlister family, tragically caught up in the British Home Children immigration schemes. The author, with her impressive attention to the historical facts of these programs, woven together with the trials and tribulations of Laura, Grace, Katie, and Garth, makes this book not only one of the most enjoyable BHC books I have read to date but also an important historical lesson for her readers.”
—Lori Oschefski, CEO of the British Home Children Advocacy & Research Association

“If you enjoyed Christina Baker Kline’s Orphan Train or Lisa Wingate’s Before We Were Yours, you are sure to love Carrie Turansky’s latest, No Ocean Too Wide. A treasure of a book. Not to be missed.”
—Cathy Gohlke, Christy Award–winning author of The Medallion and Until We Find Home

“In this heartwarming story about the lengths to which family will go to protect one another, Turansky deftly weaves a tale that combines a sometimes shocking history with a tender romance. This beautiful story will breathe hope into readers’ hearts.”
—Roseanna M. White, best-selling author of the Ladies of the Manor and Shadows Over England series

No Ocean Too Wide is Carrie Turansky at her finest, as she weaves rich historical details and engaging characters with the heart-wrenching complexities surrounding the emigration of British Home Children in the early 1900s. I thoroughly enjoyed this glimpse into English and Canadian history, with its echoes of the trials faced by orphans in books such as Anne of Green Gables, and the strong message of faith and trust in the heavenly Father who never abandons us.”
—Carolyn Miller, award-winning author of the Regency Brides historical romance series

About Carrie Turansky

CARRIE TURANSKY is an award-winning author of twenty novels and novellas. She has won the ACFW Carol Award, the Crystal Globe Award, and the International Digital Award, and was a finalist for the Inspirational Reader's Choice Award and the Maggie Award of Excellence. A prolific writer of contemporary and historical romance, women's fiction, short stories, articles, and devotionals, Carrie lives in central New Jersey with her husband, Scott. They have five adult children and six grandchildren.

Featured Videos

Book Trailer: NO OCEAN TOO WIDE by Carrie Turansky

Product Details

368 pages | Published by Multnomah

On Sale Date: Jun 25, 2019

Trim Size: 5-1/2 x 8-1/4

Carton Quantity: 24

Sneak Peek

Read the first chapter of No Ocean Too Wide. Between the years of 1869 to 1939 more than 100,000 poor British children were sent across the ocean to Canada with the promise of a better life. Those who took them in to work as farm laborers or household servants were told they were orphans—but was that the truth? When Laura McAllister, a young lady's maid, learns her three siblings have been taken from their mother and emigrated to Canada without her mother's knowledge, Laura determines to search for them and reunite the family. But lack of funds and resistance from authorities push her to use a false name and take a position with a child emigration society to gain passage to Canada. Andrew Frasier, a wealthy young lawyer, is surprised to see his mother's former lady's maid on board ship escorting a group of child immigrants, especially when she uses a different name. Laura eventually convinces Andrew to help her search for her siblings and uncover the truth about the treatment of British Home Children. Romantic feelings grow between this unlikely couple, and though they have different backgrounds, they share a growing faith and desire to seek justice and relief for the children who are mistreated.

Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Contact: Chelsea Woodward, Associate Publicist
cwoodward@penguinrandomhouse.com
(719) 268-1915
 
Award-Winning Author Carrie Turansky Sheds Light on British Home Children Phenomenon in New Edwardian-Era Novel
 
No Ocean Too Wide is a compelling story of the McAlister family, tragically caught up in the British Home Children immigration schemes. The author, with her impressive attention to the historical facts of these programs, woven together with the trials and tribulations of Laura, Grace, Katie, and Garth, makes this book not only one of the most enjoyable BHC books I have read to date but also an important historical lesson for her readers.”
—Lori Oschefski, CEO of the British Home Children Advocacy & Research Association

Award-winning author Carrie Turansky takes readers on a riveting quest across the Atlantic Ocean in her latest Edwardian-era novel, No Ocean Too Wide (6/25/19, Multnomah). Inspired by true events surrounding the British Home Children phenomenon—where poor British children were emigrated to Canada with the promise of a better life—Turansky sheds light on this little-known piece of 19th and 20th century history.
 
As a foster-turned-adoptive mother, Turansky took a special interest in this heartbreaking chapter of British and Canadian history when she first came across it. She was shocked to learn that more than 100,000 poor and orphaned children were emigrated from England to Canada between 1869 and 1939. Most worked as indentured farm laborers or household servants until they were eighteen. Only a few were adopted and accepted as equals in society. Today more than six million Canadians are descendants of British Home Children. 
 
In No Ocean Too Wide, Turansky imagines the fictional McAlister family unjustly torn apart by this system when the widowed mother falls ill and her three youngest children are taken into a children’s home. The eldest sibling, Laura, returns to London to discover her siblings have been emigrated to Canada, launching her into a desperate search for them. When she unexpectedly meets her employer’s son on the ship to Canada, he agrees to help her reunite their family, and their unlikely partnership blossoms into something more.
 
For faithful readers of Turansky’s novels, historical fiction enthusiasts and fans of Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, No Ocean Too Wide is a must-read. Turansky’s thorough research into the emigration of British Home Children as well as her firsthand experience as an adoptive parent bring an informed and personal touch to the McAlister family’s story.
 
“I hope readers will think about the needs of orphaned and abandoned children and families in crisis and want to do what they can to help them,” says Turansky. “When we put our faith in action to help those in need, God’s love shines through and that can have an impact on many.”
 
For more information, visit www.waterbrookmultnomah.com.
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
CARRIE TURANSKY is an award-winning author of twenty novels and novellas. She has won the ACFW Carol Award, the Crystal Globe Award, and the International Digital Award, and she was a finalist for the Inspirational Reader's Choice Award and the Maggie Award of Excellence. A prolific writer of contemporary and historical romance, women's fiction, short stories, articles, and devotionals, Turansky lives in central New Jersey with her husband, Scott. They have five adult children and six grandchildren. For more information, visit www.carrieturansky.com.

Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorCarrieTuransky
Twitter: @CarrieTuransky
Instagram: @CarrieTuransky
 
PRAISE FOR NO OCEAN TOO WIDE

No Ocean Too Wide is a fine example of a historical novel performing one of its most important functions: bringing to life, honoring, and preserving a piece of history that might otherwise go forgotten. Turansky’s novel is sure to capture readers with the heartache and hope entwining the McAlister family’s story. Those interested in America’s orphan trains will not want to miss this fresh new tale about the British Home Children.”
—Jocelyn Green, award-winning author of Between Two Shores

 “No Ocean Too Wide is a classic story of hope and perseverance for readers of Lisa Wingate, Cathy Gohlke, and Susan Anne Mason. Turansky excavates a little-known history to sew a tender narrative about the inherent desire for place and belonging. Beyond the well-drawn journey and the romantic connection slowly unfurling into deepest love, Turansky encourages the reader to seek the power of God’s forgiveness in the hardest to reach places.”
—Rachel McMillan, author of Murder in the City of Liberty

 “In this heartwarming story about the lengths to which family will go to protect one another, Turansky deftly weaves a tale that combines a sometimes shocking history with a tender romance. This beautiful story will breathe hope into readers’ hearts.”
—Roseanna M. White, best-selling author of the Ladies of the Manor and Shadows Over England series

No Ocean Too Wide is Carrie Turansky at her finest, as she weaves rich historical details and engaging characters with the heart-wrenching complexities surrounding the emigration of British Home Children in the early 1900s. I thoroughly enjoyed this glimpse into English and Canadian history, with its echoes of the trials faced by orphans in books such as Anne of Green Gables, and the strong message of faith and trust in the heavenly Father who never abandons us.”
—Carolyn Miller, award-winning author of the Regency Brides historical romance series

Contact Publicist