Toggle navigation

About Of Fire and Lions

The Old Testament book of Daniel comes to life in this novel for readers of Lynn Austin's Chronicles of the Kings series or Francine Rivers' Mark of the Lion series.

Survival. A Hebrew girl first tasted it when she escaped death nearly seventy years ago as the Babylonians ransacked Jerusalem and took their finest as captives. She thought she'd perfected in the many years amongst the Magoi and the idol worshippers, pretending with all the others in King Nebuchadnezzar's court. Now, as Daniel's wife and a septuagenarian matriarch, Belili thinks she's safe and she can live out her days in Babylon without fear--until the night Daniel is escorted to Belshazzar's palace to interpret mysterious handwriting on a wall. The Persian Army invades, and Bellili's tightly-wound secrets unfurl with the arrival of the conquering army. What will the reign of Darius mean for Daniel, a man who prays to Yahweh alone?

Ultimately, Yahweh's sovereign hand guides Jerusalem's captives, and the frightened Hebrew girl is transformed into a confident woman, who realizes her need of the God who conquers both fire and lions.

Praise

Of Fire and Lions is a breathtaking and intricately told story of life and love in Babylonian captivity. Mesu Andrews’s well-researched tale brings to life Daniel and his wife, showing in vivid detail the challenges their love experienced in a pagan and hostile environment. Andrews gives readers a fascinating inside look at familiar biblical accounts (like the three men in the fiery furnace), all the while developing a beautiful and timeless love story.”
—Jody Hedlund, author of Luther and Katharina, Christy Award winner

“Mesu’s stories are immersive in the best sense of the word. Tackling Daniel? Not easy. But she succeeds with a captivating story line and gives penetrating truths that will go deep into your mind and heart.”
—James L. Rubart, best-selling author of The Man He Never Was

“Mesu Andrews is a master at writing biblical fiction! In Of Fire and Lions, she invites us on a seemingly familiar journey, and then—with a passion for truth and impeccable research—Mesu opens our eyes to an entirely new perspective that shatters familiarity and propels us right back to God’s Word. A compelling, brilliantly written novel, Of Fire and Lions is one of those rare stories that will stick with you for a lifetime.”
—Melanie Dobson, award-winning author of Catching the Wind and Hidden Among the Stars

“A masterpiece of imagination that flows from both biblical and historical records, Of Fire and Lions will challenge you, convict you, and entertain you all at the same time!”
—Anne Mateer, author of No Small Storm and Time Will Tell

“Once again, skilled storyteller Mesu Andrews has accomplished what so many of us wish to do—peek into the lives of cherished and sometimes mysterious Bible characters, walk with them, hear the words behind their groans, and feel the change in temperature as the shadow of the Almighty falls over them. A beautiful and important novel.”
—Cynthia Ruchti, award-winning author of more than a dozen books, including Miles from Where We Started

“Mesu’s vivid prose transports you into the biblical world so vividly that the characters and setting become as real as any people or places you’ve experienced. Old Testament stories come alive with political intrigue, whirlwinds of thwarted romance, and life-changing risks and decisions. Immerse yourself in Of Fire and Lions, and it will change how you read the book of Daniel forever.”
—Kathy Ide, author, editor, and writers’ conference director

About Mesu Andrews

MESU ANDREWS is the Christy Award-winning author of Isaiah’s Daughter and numerous other novels, including The Pharaoh's Daughter, Miriam, Of Fire and Lions and Love Amid the Ashes. Her deep understanding of and love for God's Word brings the biblical world alive for readers. Mesu lives in North Carolina with her husband, Roy, and enjoys spending time with her growing tribe of grandchildren.

Product Details

400 pages | Published by WaterBrook

On Sale Date: Mar 5, 2019

Trim Size: 5-1/2 x 8-1/4

Carton Quantity: 24

Sneak Peek

Read the first two chapters of Of Fire and Lions. The Old Testament book of Daniel comes to life in this novel for readers of Lynn Austin's Chronicles of the Kings series or Francine Rivers' Mark of the Lion series. Survival. A Hebrew girl first tasted it when she escaped death nearly seventy years ago as the Babylonians ransacked Jerusalem and took their finest as captives. She thought she'd perfected it in the many years amongst the Magoi and the idol worshippers, pretending with all the others in King Nebuchadnezzar's court. Now, as Daniel's wife and a septuagenarian matriarch, Belili thinks she's safe and can live out her days in Babylon without fear—until the night Daniel is escorted to Belshazzar's palace to interpret mysterious handwriting on a wall. The Persian Army invades, and Bellili's tightly-wound secrets unfurl with the arrival of the conquering army. What will the reign of Darius mean for Daniel, a man who prays to Yahweh alone? Ultimately, Yahweh's sovereign hand guides Jerusalem's captives, and the frightened Hebrew girl is transformed into a confident woman, who realizes her need of the God who conquers both fire and lions.

Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Contact: Chelsea Woodward, Associate Publicist
cwoodward@penguinrandomhouse.com
(719) 268-1915
 
Christy Award-Winning Author Mesu Andrews Brings to Life the Prophet Daniel Through the Eyes of the Woman He Loved
 
“Andrews (Isaiah’s Daughter) fleshes out the lives of well-known Old Testament characters in this enchanting work. Unexpected plot twists, empathetic characters, and well-researched biblical history make this an exceptional work of scripture-based fiction.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
CBA best-selling and Christy Award-winning author Mesu Andrews draws from the Old Testament book of Daniel to tell a powerful story of survival, long-held secrets, prophecies and miraculous deliverance in her new biblical fiction novel, OF FIRE AND LIONS (3/5/19, WaterBrook).
 
Andrews takes the well-known story of Daniel, including the 70-year exile of the Jews to Babylon and Daniel’s time in the lion’s den, and imagines it through the eyes of his lifelong love, Belili.
 
As a young girl, Belili narrowly escaped death when the Babylonians ransacked Jerusalem and took their finest as captives. Instructed to tend to four captive princes—Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego—Belili was immediately drawn to Daniel as she witnessed him step into his role as a prophet at a young age. But her survival journey took her elsewhere, among pagan worshippers and into a life she would long to forget.
 
Years later, as Daniel’s wife and matriarch of their family, Belili’s past seems far behind her; until the night the Medo-Persian Army invades and brings her secrets with them. Will Belili choose truth over deception and find freedom in the God who rescues His people from both fire and lions?
 
Andrews once again provides a compelling, previously unexplored story inspired by the Old Testament. Biblical fiction and historical fiction fans, as well as readers who take a special interest in the Old Testament, will love the way Andrews has woven her imagination through the biblical account of Daniel.
 
For more information, visit www.waterbrookmultnomah.com.
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
MESU ANDREWS is the Christy Award-winning author of Isaiah’s Daughter and has received numerous accolades for her other novels including Love Amid the Ashes, The Pharaoh’s Daughter, and Miriam. Her deep understanding of and love for God’s Word brings the biblical world alive for readers.
 
Many of her faithful readers are members of her launch team—Mesu’s Biblical Fiction Fans (BFFs)—and offer their time and service to promote God’s word through story. Andrews lives in North Carolina with her husband Roy and enjoys spending time with her growing tribe of grandchildren. For more information, visit www.mesuandrews.com.
 
Facebook: facebook.com/MesuAndrews Twitter: @MesuAndrews Instagram: @MesuAndrews

PRAISE FOR OF FIRE AND LIONS

Of Fire and Lions is a breathtaking and intricately told story of life and love in Babylonian captivity. Mesu Andrews’s well-researched tale brings to life Daniel and his wife, showing in vivid detail the challenges their love experienced in a pagan and hostile environment. Andrews gives readers a fascinating inside look at familiar biblical accounts (like the three men in the fiery furnace), all the while developing a beautiful and timeless love story.”
—Jody Hedlund, author of Luther and Katharina, Christy Award winner

“Mesu’s stories are immersive in the best sense of the word. Tackling Daniel? Not easy. But she succeeds with a captivating story line and gives penetrating truths that will go deep into your mind and heart.”
—James L. Rubart, best-selling author of The Man He Never Was

“Mesu Andrews is a master at writing biblical fiction! In Of Fire and Lions, she invites us on a seemingly familiar journey, and then—with a passion for truth and impeccable research—Mesu opens our eyes to an entirely new perspective that shatters familiarity and propels us right back to God’s Word. A compelling, brilliantly written novel, Of Fire and Lions is one of those rare stories that will stick with you for a lifetime.”
—Melanie Dobson, award-winning author of Catching the Wind and Hidden Among the Stars

“A masterpiece of imagination that flows from both biblical and historical records, Of Fire and Lions will challenge you, convict you, and entertain you all at the same time!”
—Anne Mateer, author of No Small Storm and Time Will Tell

 “Mesu’s vivid prose transports you into the biblical world so vividly that the characters and setting become as real as any people or places you’ve experienced. Old Testament stories come alive with political intrigue, whirlwinds of thwarted romance, and life-changing risks and decisions. Immerse yourself in Of Fire and Lions, and it will change how you read the book of Daniel forever.”
—Kathy Ide, author, editor, and writers’ conference director

Contact Publicist