Toggle navigation

About Ours for a Season

An Old Order Mennonite couple's vows and beliefs are challenged in this stirring contemporary novel for fans of Cindy Woodsmall or Shelley Shepherd Gray.

Anthony and Marty Hirschler are part of an Old Order Mennonite community in Pine Hill, Indiana. The couple has grown apart since a doctor confirmed they would never have children. Marty longs to escape the tight-knit area where large families are valued, and the opportunity to do so arises when her childhood friend, Brooke Spalding, resurfaces with the wild idea of rebuilding a ghost town into a resort community. Brooke hires Anthony to help with the construction, drawing the Hirschlers away from Indiana and into her plan, and then finds herself diagnosed with cancer. Moral complications with Brooke's vision for a casino as part of the resort and the discovery of a runaway teenager hiding on the property open up a world neither the Hirschlers nor Brooke had considered before. Will they be able to overcome their challenges and differences to help the ones among them hurting the most?

Praise

“I always enjoy a story of personal struggles and eventual triumphs. But Ours for a Season takes it up a notch. Kim sensitively weaves in a contemporary social issue that we all need to care more about. Both Marty and Brooke set an inspiring example of true Christian love. Well done, Kim!”
—Melody Carlson, award-winning author of We’ll Meet Again

Ours for a Season swept me away from the first page until the last. Sawyer’s ability to create true-to-life characters shines in this unforgettable tale. Run, do not walk, to your nearest bookstore and buy this book!”
—Kathleen Y’Barbo, best-selling author of The Pirate Bride and Beloved Castaway

“What begins as a seemingly predictable ‘we can’t have a baby’ novel turns into a ripped-from-the-headlines heart-wrenching story. Marty, Anthony, and Brooke came to life, each with his or her own challenges. As they worked to resolve these challenges, I learned along with them…about life, love, and ultimately hope.”
—Roxanne Henke, author of the popular Coming Home to Brewster series

“Kim Vogel Sawyer has a unique ability to connect readers to their own foibles and needs by exploring the hearts of her characters with great insight. I highly recommend this amazing novelist.”
—Hannah Alexander, author of the Hallowed Halls series

About Kim Vogel Sawyer

Kim Vogel Sawyer is a highly acclaimed best-selling author with more than one million books in print, in seven different languages. Her titles have earned numerous accolades including the ACFW Carol Award, the Inspirational Readers' Choice Award, and the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence. Kim lives in central Kansas with her retired military husband, Don, where she continues to write gentle stories of hope. She enjoys spending time with her three daughters and grandchildren.

Product Details

352 pages | Published by WaterBrook

On Sale Date: Sep 11, 2018

Trim Size: 5-1/2 x 8-1/4

Carton Quantity: 24

Sneak Peek

Read the first chapter of Ours for a Season. An Old Order Mennonite couple's vows and beliefs are challenged in this stirring contemporary novel for fans of Cindy Woodsmall or Shelley Shepherd Gray. Anthony and Marty Hirschler are part of an Old Order Mennonite community in Pine Hill, Indiana. The couple has grown apart since a doctor confirmed they would never have children. Marty longs to escape the tight-knit area where large families are valued, and the opportunity to do so arises when her childhood friend, Brooke Spalding, resurfaces with the wild idea of rebuilding a ghost town into a resort community. Brooke hires Anthony to help with the construction, drawing the Hirschlers away from Indiana and into her plan, and then finds herself diagnosed with cancer. Moral complications with Brooke's vision for a casino as part of the resort and the discovery of a runaway teenager hiding on the property open up a world neither the Hirschlers nor Brooke had considered before. Will they be able to overcome their challenges and differences to help the ones among them hurting the most?

Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Contact: Chelsea Woodward, Associate Publicist
cwoodward@penguinrandomhouse.com

 
Kim Vogel Sawyer Releases 50th Title, Shares a Story of Deep Friendship and New Beginnings

“Sawyer’s fine story overflows with hope and the promise of a better life.” PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

“I always enjoy a story of personal struggles and eventual triumphs. But Ours for a Season takes it up a notch. Kim sensitively weaves in a contemporary social issue that we all need to care more about. Both Marty and Brooke set an inspiring example of true Christian love. Well done, Kim!”
—Melody Carlson, award-winning author of We’ll Meet Again

Best-selling and beloved author Kim Vogel Sawyer pens a beautiful new tale of loss, redemption and unlikely friendship in her latest standalone, contemporary Mennonite novel, Ours for a Season (9/11/18, WaterBrook).
 
Ours for a Season marks Sawyer’s 50th published title and draws inspiration from her personal relationships, including friend and author Diann Hunt’s valiant fight against ovarian cancer and a young family friend’s experience as a victim of human trafficking.
 
The novel begins with heartbreaking loss and longing as an Old Order Mennonite couple, Anthony and Marty Hirschler, deal with the reality of infertility and its effect on their marriage. Living in a family-focused community, Marty longs to get away. When her childhood friend, Brooke Spalding, proposes that Anthony act as general contractor in transforming a Kansas ghost town into a resort, Marty’s prayer is answered. Brooke also hopes the couple’s temporary move to Kansas will give them the chance to reconnect in their marriage.
 
Once Marty and Anthony arrive in Kansas, an unexpected diagnosis, the discovery of a runaway teenager caught in human trafficking and a moral dilemma turn the group’s plans on their head. As the new resort begins to take shape, will Marty, Anthony and Brooke overcome their differences and find the healing from life’s losses that they’ve longed for?
 
Ours for a Season honors Hunt’s memory and draws awareness to human trafficking while also bringing faithful Sawyer fans and Amish and Mennonite fiction readers a story of deep friendship and new beginnings.
 
“I hope the story will show readers there is hope even in the midst of deep despair,” writes Sawyer. “God is present in our hardest trials and He provides new beginnings to those who feel completely broken and unusable.”

For more information, visit www.waterbrookmultnomah.com.
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
With more than 1.5 million copies of her books in print worldwide, Kim Vogel Sawyer enjoys a full-time writing and speaking ministry. Her novels have won numerous awards, including the ACFW Carol Award, the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award, and the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence. Sawyer and her retired military husband, Don, live in small-town Kansas, the setting for many of her novels. When she isn’t writing, Sawyer stays active serving in her church, traveling, and spoiling her grandchildren. For more information, visit www.kimvogelsawyer.com.
 
Facebook: www.facebook.com/KimVogelSawyer.Author.Speaker/
Twitter: @kimvogelsawyer
 
PRAISE FOR OURS FOR A SEASON

 “Ours for a Season swept me away from the first page until the last. Sawyer’s ability to create true-to-life characters shines in this unforgettable tale. Run, do not walk, to your nearest bookstore and buy this book!”
—Kathleen Y’Barbo, best-selling author of The Pirate Bride and Beloved Castaway

“What begins as a seemingly predictable ‘we can’t have a baby’ novel turns into a ripped-from-the-headlines heart-wrenching story. Marty, Anthony, and Brooke came to life, each with his or her own challenges. As they worked to resolve these challenges, I learned along with them…about life, love, and ultimately hope.”
—Roxanne Henke, author of the popular Coming Home to Brewster series

“Kim Vogel Sawyer has a unique ability to connect readers to their own foibles and needs by exploring the hearts of her characters with great insight. I highly recommend this amazing novelist.”
—Hannah Alexander, author of the Hallowed Halls series

Contact Publicist