Toggle navigation

About When the Morning Comes

Her relationship with fiancé Paul Waddell in tatters, Hannah Lapp has fled her secluded Old Order Amish community in hopes of finding a new home in Ohio with her shunned aunt. Hampered by limited education and hiding her true identity, Hannah struggles to navigate the confusing world of the Englischers.

Back in Owl’s Perch, Pennsylvania, Paul is wracked with regret over his treatment of Hannah. Fearing for her safety, he tries to convince Hannah’s remaining allies–brother Luke, best friend Mary, and loyal Matthew Esh–to help search for his love. Hannah’s father, however, remains steadfastly convinced of her sinful behavior. His blindness to his family’s pain extends to her sister, Sarah, who shows signs of increasing instability.

Convinced her former life is irreparably destroyed, Hannah finds purpose and solace in life with her aunt and in a growing friendship with Englischer Martin Palmer. Will the countless opportunities in her new life persuade Hannah that her place is amongst the Englischers— or will she give in to her heart’s call to return home and face her past?

When the Morning Comes is book two in the Sisters of the Quilt series.


“Cindy Woodsmall writes real--real people, real conflicts, real emotions. When you open her book, you enter her world and live the story with the characters. When the Morning Comes is a journey of discovering faith, of overcoming trauma, of learning to depend on God’s sustaining strength.  I eagerly await installment three of the Sisters of the Quilt Series!”
–Kim Vogel Sawyer, author of Where Willows Grow and Waiting for Summer’s Return

“Harness-making and prayer Kapps meet cell phones and photography in this latest Cindy Woodsmall novel blending the old world with the new.  Through Amish and Mennonite characters in tension with their contemporary world, Cindy weaves the fabric of all faith communities hoping to be relevant to the world around them -- and each other -- while not losing the strengths of their forefathers and foremothers. When Morning Comes is a fine rendering of struggle and joy that resonates long after the last words are read.” 
–Jane Kirkpatrick, award-winning author of the Change and Cherish Series

Praise for the Sisters of the Quilt Series

“Woodsmall’s fantastic second book in the Sisters of the Quilt series continues the story of Hannah Lapp. Keep the tissues nearby — Hannah’s tale will tug hard at the heartstrings. Readers will find themselves cheering Hannah on through her ordeals and hating to put the book down.”
–Romatic Times

“Cindy Woodsmall writes real--real people, real conflicts, real emotions. When you open her book, you enter her world and live the story with the characters.”
–Kim Vogel Sawyer, author of Where Willows Grow and Waiting for Summer’s Return

“Reaching deep into the heart of the reader, Cindy Woodsmall pens a beautifully lyrical story in her debut novel When the Heart Cries.”
–Tamera Alexander, bestselling author of Rekindled

“What a vibrant, strong, emotional story! When the Heart Cries will grip you and not let go, I promise. Highly recommended!”
–Gayle Roper, author of Allah’s Fire and the Seaside Seasons series

About Cindy Woodsmall

Cindy Woodsmall is a New York Times and CBA bestselling author of numerous works of fiction and one of nonfiction. Her connection with the Amish community has been featured widely in national media. She lives in the foothills of the North Georgia Mountains with her family.

Product Details

336 pages | Published by WaterBrook

On Sale Date: Sep 4, 2007

Trim Size: 5-3/16 x 8

Carton Quantity: 24

Sneak Peek

Can Hannah find refuge, redemption, and a fresh beginning after her world has shattered?

Click here to download the first chapter of When the Morning Comes now.

Rejected by those she loves, Hannah seeks refuge in the world outside while family and friends wrestle with the painful truths that emerge in the wake of her disappearance.

By Margaret Chind

TALK ABOUT A CLIFF HANGER! Dudette, you can not just leave me hanging like this, I donâ??t know how Iâ??m suppose to make it to September! Ugh! This book was really great, better than the first, and I really enjoyed that one. There is real issues that are tough on life and hard, but there is goodness. There are more characters to fall in love with in this book and the personalities are so real and so great, that you do not know who to love...

Read the Full Review

By Erin Mifflin

This book was quite a bit different than the first in the way it was paced. The first one takes place over 6 months and the heroine is in crisis mode the whole time; this second one takes place over almost 3 years and she is mostly at peace as she pursues her new life. The story is still very interesting and compelling and I can't wait to see what happens in the third book! Excellent writing, though deals with several sensitive subjects and...

Read the Full Review

By Janet Reeves

The second book of the Sisters of the Quilt series takes readers out of the Amish community. Hannah has fled and must learn how to live among the Englisch. Thankfully, she finds herself among people who care about her and want to help her succeed. They are patient, most of the time, and sympathetic to her unique needs. Hannah's situation gives readers an interesting perspective about the Amish. Away from her familiar community, Hannah must...

Read the Full Review

By Courtney Melone

The Sisters of the Quilt continues! I was so engrossed in this story that as soon as I finished the first book, I read When the Morning Comes before writing my review for the first. Hopefully I don't confuse the two stories together. In the previous book, When the Heart Cries, Hannah has to face the fact that her relationship with Paul will never be the same and she decides to leave the Amish community to go to Ohio and find the aunt that was...

Read the Full Review