Toggle navigation

When the Soul Mends

Book 3 in the Sisters of the Quilt Amish Series

Cindy Woodsmall

Category: Fiction

Part of the Sisters of the Quilt Series

About When the Soul Mends

Returning to the home she fled in disgrace, will Hannah find healing for the wounds of the past?

After receiving a desperate and confusing call from her sister, Hannah Lapp reluctantly returns to the Old Order Amish community of her Pennsylvania childhood.

Having fled in disgrace more than two years earlier, she finally has settled into a satisfying role in the Englischer world. She also has found love and a new family with the wealthy Martin Palmer and the children she is helping him raise. But almost immediately after her arrival in Owl’s Perch, the disapproval of those who ostracized her, including her headstrong father, reopens old wounds.

As Hannah is thrown together with former fiancé Paul Waddell to work for her sister Sarah’s mental health, hidden truths surface about events during Hannah’s absence, and she faces an agonizing decision. Will she choose the Englischer world and the man who restored her hope, or will she heed the call to return to the Plain Life–and perhaps to her first love?

When the Soul Mends is the third and final book in the Sisters of the Quilt series.


“A skillfully written story of forgiveness and redemption. Woodsmall’s authentic characters illustrate beautifully how wounded souls can indeed be mended.”
–Susan Meissner, author of The Shape of Mercy

“A heartwarming tale of love and forgiveness,  Cindy Woodsmall’s novel, When the Soul Mends, offers believable characters and a page-turning plot in an Amish setting so real I could almost smell fresh-baked cinnamon rolls and hear the clip-clop of horses’ hooves. For a book that pulls you in from start to finish, this is a must read!”
–Diann Hunt, author of For Better or For Worse

“Like the stitches on a well-loved quilt, love and faith hold together Cindy Woodsmall's When the Soul Mends, the brilliantly written third story in the Sisters of the Quilt series. With deft plotting and characters that seem to jump off the page, this novel offers the timeless truth that forgiveness is the balm which heals all wounds and a blanket for the soul.”
–Kathleen Y’Barbo, author of Beloved Castaway

Praise for the Sisters of the Quilt Series

“Woodsmall’s fantastic second book in the Sisters of the Quilt series continues the story of Hannah Lapp. Keep the tissues nearby — Hannah’s tale will tug hard at the heartstrings. Readers will find themselves cheering Hannah on through her ordeals and hating to put the book down.”
–Romatic Times

“Cindy Woodsmall writes real--real people, real conflicts, real emotions. When you open her book, you enter her world and live the story with the characters.”
–Kim Vogel Sawyer, author of Where Willows Grow and Waiting for Summer’s Return

When Morning Comes is a fine rendering of struggle and joy that resonates long after the last words are read.” 
–Jane Kirkpatrick, award-winning author of the Change and Cherish Series, including A Tendering in the Storm

“Reaching deep into the heart of the reader, Cindy Woodsmall pens a beautifully lyrical story in her debut novel When the Heart Cries.”
–Tamera Alexander, bestselling author of Rekindled

“What a vibrant, strong, emotional story! When the Heart Cries will grip you and not let go, I promise. Highly recommended!”
–Gayle Roper, author of Allah’s Fire and the Seaside Seasons series

About Cindy Woodsmall

Cindy Woodsmall is a New York Times and CBA bestselling author of numerous works of fiction and one of nonfiction. Her connection with the Amish community has been featured widely in national media. She lives in the foothills of the North Georgia Mountains with her family.

Product Details

368 pages | Published by WaterBrook

On Sale Date: Sep 16, 2008

Trim Size: 5-3/16 x 8

Carton Quantity: 24

Sneak Peek

Returning to the home she fled in disgrace, will Hannah find healing for the wounds of the past?

Click here to download the first chapter of When the Soul Mends now.

Hannah must choose whether to return to the Plain Life of her first love or to embrace the Englischer man who gave her his love and a new family in this conclusion to the Sisters of the Quilt series.


By Margaret Chind

Wow. That is the main thought that I am left with after finishing this magnificent book. Cindy Woodsmall has done an amazing job with her debut series and I cannot wait to read more from this fabulous author. I enjoyed the first book and really was full of emotion for the characters. I cannot tell you how many times throughout the series I was brought to tears or screaming in anger when the characters would not for themselves. When the...

Read the Full Review

By Janet Reeves

When the Soul Mends brings Hannah's story back to the beginning. She grew up in an Amish home. She started a new life in an Englisch community. Now a family emergency involving her sister's mental health is calling her home in spite of the fact that she is no longer welcome there. Hannah finds herself struggling to bring her two worlds together, striving to save her sister and hoping to restore relationship with her stubborn father....

Read the Full Review

By Erin Mifflin

When I finished the second book in this series, I thought the third one was going to be so predictable. I was wrong! The plot kept going deeper as Hannah confronts her past, surprised at the amount of anger and hurt that is still in her heart even with the healing she's gone through. Can she truly forgive? Not your typical Amish story by a long shot! The choices which face Hannah make this a real page-turner and a satisfying conclusion to the...

Read the Full Review

By Julie A

Remember my rambling post about When the Heart Cries? Since then I've checked out and finished the next two books in the series. I feel very comfortable saying I think Cindy Woodsmall is an great author. I love the contrast she provides between book 1 and book 2 and how she brings it all together for fabulous book 3. Her sub plots were as interesting to me as the main plot, and I felt they all tie together extremely well. The first two books...

Read the Full Review

By Erin Rushforth

Hannah has finally established a new life for herself - a potential husband, a satisfying career path, and meaningful studies - away from the Amish home she fled two years ago. A desperate phone call from her younger sister begging her to return turns the order of her new life upside down. As she confronts her parents, her siblings, her former fiancé, and her past, she learns lessons of humility, of forgiveness, and of healing which alter her...

Read the Full Review